CIMS/ISSA Certification

Cleaning Industry Management Standard (CIMS) is the first organization-wide management standard and certification for cleaning service providers, both in-house and outsourced. Developed through a consensus-based process.

There are 72,000 Commercial Janitorial Contractors. AHI is one of only 251 contractors that have CIMS Certification.

The Five Pillars of Management Excellence

CIMS sets forth five areas of management best practices that have proven to be the foundation of high performance, customer-focused cleaning organizations:

  • Quality Systems
  • Service Delivery
  • Human Resources
  • Health, Safety, and Environmental Stewardship
  • Management Commitment


CIMS is effective because it is based on universally accepted management principles and applies these elements to an entire organization – rather than to an individual, product or process. AHI is accountable for every aspect of our work performance. Periodic audits ensure our consistency.